Liverpool Skipper, Jordan Henderson, wins Men's Footballer of the year

Liverpool captain, Jordan Henderson, has been crowned the Premier League Men's  footballer of the year by the Football Writers' Association.

The Englishman beat off competitions from teammates, Virgil Van Dijk and Sadio Mane, and Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City) and Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), to win the award by garnering more than a quarter of the total votes. 

Receiving the award, the 30 year old said, “As grateful as I am I don’t feel like I can accept this on my own.

“I owe a lot to so many people but none more so than my current team-mates, who have been incredible and deserve this every bit as much as I do.

He added, “I accept [the award] on behalf of this whole squad, because without them I’m not in a position to be receiving this honour. These lads have made me a better player – a better leader and a better person.

“If anything I hope those who voted for me did so partly to recognise the entire team’s contribution.”

Henderson, who joined The Reds in 2011, recently helped them win the Premier League title for the first time in more than two decades. 

No comments